Thank You For Your Service!

From USA Today:

At an “Ask Mitt Anything” forum this morning in Bettendorf, Iowa, GOP presidential candidate Mitt Romney was quizzed about whether any of his five sons are serving in the U.S. military.
USA TODAY’s Susan Page, who was there, reports that this was his response:

“The good news is, we have a volunteer Army and that’s the way we’re going to keep it. My sons are adults. They’ve chosen not to serve in the military in active duty and I respect their decision in that regard. … And one of the ways my sons are showing support for our nation is helping me get elected because they think I’d be a great president.”

null
Original WW2 recruitment poster.

Anyone else in tears? Wait, kids, there’s more!

Romney then spoke about how his son Josh and his family are driving across Iowa in a recreational vehicle to help promote the campaign.

Can you believe the sacrifices this family is making? I know I can’t! Not only are these brave fellows risking having their jockey shorts ride up during long Winnebago drives, but they also feel bad about not being over in Iraq! No, really! Here they are talking about it to Mike Wallace on 60 Minutes. What a shame it is that there is absolutely nothing they can do about not being in the service, especially since their dad is such a fan of the war. I guess Mitt got a taste for combat when he served so nobly and proudly and bravely in Vietnam.

:oops: Oops! Pardon me. I just checked, and it seems that Mitt never served in Vietnam. In fact, he was never in the service at all!

From The Boston Globe:

As the Vietnam War raged in the 1960s, Mitt Romney received a deferment from the draft as a Mormon “minister of religion” for the duration of his missionary work in France, which lasted two and a half years.

Before and after his missionary deferment, Romney also received nearly three years of deferments for his academic studies. When his deferments ended and he became eligible for military service in 1970, he drew a high number in the annual lottery that determined which young men were drafted. His high number ensured he was not drafted into the military.

The deferments for Mormon missionaries became increasingly controversial in the late 1960s, especially in Utah, leading the Mormon Church and the government to limit the number of church missionaries who could put off their military service. That agreement called for each church ward, or church district, to designate one male every six months to be exempted from potential duty for the duration of his missionary work.

Romney’s home state was Michigan, making his 4-D exemption as a missionary all but automatic because of the relatively small number of Mormon missionaries from that state. It might have been more difficult in Utah, where the huge Mormon population meant that there were sometimes more missionaries than available exemptions.
…snip…
“I really don’t recall thinking about political positions when I was knocking at the door in France” as a missionary, Romney said. “I was supportive of my country. I longed in many respects to actually be in Vietnam and be representing our country there and in some ways it was frustrating not to feel like I was there as part of the troops that were fighting in Vietnam.”

Poor Mitt! I bet he feels terrible for his sons, knowing the pain of not being able to do anything about joining the service. Hmmmm, I wonder if Mitt drove across France in a Winnebago…

9 Comments

Filed under 2008 election, Army, Ben Romney, Craig Romney, humor, Josh Romney, Matt Romney, Mitt Romney, parody, politics, Republicans, satire, snark, Tagg Romney, Vietnam

9 responses to “Thank You For Your Service!

  1. Hello Nonnie!! :D

    I am greatly puzzled by Mitt’s response:
    “The good news is, we have a volunteer Army and that’s the way we’re going to keep it. My sons are adults. They’ve chosen not to serve in the military in active duty and I respect their decision in that regard. … And one of the ways my sons are showing support for our nation is helping me get elected because they think I’d be a great president.”

    Now I have analyzed and parsed and analyzed Mitt’s response, and for the life of me I cannot detect where he is lying. Subtlety will never win him the nomination

    In fact I am concerned for all these rethuglian presidential candidates, I am not sure that any of them are lying nearly enough to win in fair style. Whoever wins, I predict it will be by default.

    The trouble seems to be that they all appear to be totally intimidated by the level of barefaced deceit displayed by the present incumbent.

    Now, I usually will have nothing to do with anything that Chimpy says, but in the interests of illustrating my point I found a portion of a speech Chimpy made last fall on the Democracy Now! website. You could say that it is unscientifically picked at random. It is a speech where he was acknowledging the existence of the CIA black sites and torture program.

    CHIMPY:
    “We knew that Zubaydah had more information that could save innocent lives, but he stopped talking(<– LIE). As his questioning proceeded, it became clear that he had received training on how to resist interrogation(<– LIE). And so the CIA used an alternative set of procedures. These procedures were designed to be safe(<– LIE), to comply with our laws(<– LIE), our Constitution(<– LIE) and our treaty obligations(<– LIE). The Department of Justice reviewed the authorized methods extensively and determined them to be lawful.
    I cannot describe the specific methods used. I think you understand why. If I did, it would help the terrorists learn how to resist questioning(<– LIE) and to keep information from us(<– LIE) that we need to prevent new attacks on our country. But I can say the procedures were tough, and they were safe(<– LIE) and lawful(<– LIE) and necessary(<– LIE).
    I want to be absolutely clear with our people and the world: the United States does not torture(<– LIE). It’s against our laws (<– LIE), and it’s against our values(<– LIE). I have not authorized it(<– LIE), and I will not authorize it(<– LIE).”

    A dozen sentences, 16 barefaced, easy to spot lies.
    See what I mean?

  2. Friend of the court

    The young people who risk the most in this criminal war are those who have the least to gain from the rape of Iraq. It is heartbreaking that we continue to lose our military people to further enrich the richest and make the coward Bush look like a leader.

  3. WordPress is broken! :(

    This post says “0 comments” when there are 2, and the category tags are missing.

  4. nonnie9999

    hi might mikk0mouse :D !!
    maybe this will make you feel better:

    http://tinyurl.com/268886

    Here’s what it says:
    **************************************
    In the recent Time Magazine story on Mitt Romney:

    The closest he has ever come to a personal religious crisis, he recalls, was when he was in college and considering whether to go off on a mission, as his grandfather, father and brother had done. Mitt was deeply in love with Ann, his high school sweetheart and future wife, and couldn’t bear to spend more than two years away from her. He says he also felt guilty about the draft deferment he would get for it, when other young men his age were heading for Vietnam.

    Of course and as usual, that’s not what he used to say. Ryan Sager dug up a Boston Herald story from 1994:

    Romney, however, acknowledged he did not have any desire to serve in the military during his college and missionary days, especially after he married and became a father. ‘I was not planning on signing up for the military,’ he said. ‘It was not my desire to go off and serve in Vietnam, but nor did I take any actions to remove myself from the pool of young men who were eligible for the draft. If drafted, I would have been happy to serve, and if I didn’t get drafted I was happy to be with my wife and new child.

    A spiritual crisis about something he didn’t care about. That’s not plausible. It is not serious. And it is further proof that Romney isn’t either.
    *******************************************
    i love how they call ann his high school sweetheart. she was 15 when they met, and he is 3 years older than she is, so he was 18. if he didn’t get held back, he should have been either ready to graduate or had already graduated. to me, high school sweethearts meet in high school (the romneys met at a party) and go through school together. they really want to paint this 1960 ozzie and harriet picture of the entire family, and it seems that the story is just as superficial as the romneys are.
    feel better now, mighty mikk0mouse? :D mitt is a big fat plastic-haired liar!! :)

  5. nonnie9999

    amen, fotc, amen. and what makes me just as sick is that the multimillionaire romney boys and their parents are getting their tax cuts, so they don’t have to pay for this fucking war! i hope the mormon tabernacle liar (and the other rethugs) get asked at every single debate and town meeting exactly what it is that they are sacrificing because of this war.

  6. nonnie9999

    mighty mikk0mouse :D !
    wordpress seems to be all better now! :) in fact, comments can be edited now! or was that always the case and i just never noticed before?

  7. WordPress fixed itself :D :D :D

  8. nightowl724

    “the mormon tabernacle liar” :-)

    This Romney double-play is fantastic! You already know how much I love snarking him from my “How Nuts Was Mutt Romney in the Wagon? (Arf! Arf!)” parody. This completely invented politico — FrankenMitt, if you will — frightens me! :-(

    Excellent work, my friend!

  9. nonnie9999

    mittsy and his plastic reproductions….i mean, his sons….get on my last nerve. none of them have ever known what it is like to go without. of course, that does not preclude him from running for office, but please, do not try to tell the public what a regular guy you are.

Leave a Reply

