Disgusting!

From your very own United States Senate:

Question: On the Amendment (Cornyn Amdt. No. 2934 )
Vote Number: 344 Vote Date: September 20, 2007, 12:36 PM
Required For Majority: 3/5 Vote Result: Amendment Agreed to
Amendment Number: S.Amdt. 2934 to S.Amdt. 2011 to H.R. 1585 (National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2008)
Statement of Purpose: To express the sense of the Senate that General David H. Petraeus, Commanding General, Multi-National Force-Iraq, deserves the full support of the Senate and strongly condemn personal attacks on the honor and integrity of General Petraeus and all members of the United States Armed Forces.

null
Original DVD cover.

From the Los Angeles Times:

Republicans escalated a rhetorical war with Democrats over political advertising on Thursday, as the Senate voted 72 to 25 to condemn an attack on the U.S. commander in Iraq by the liberal activist group MoveOn.org.

President Bush entered the fray for the first time, describing a newspaper ad sponsored by MoveOn.org — which ridiculed Army Gen. David H. Petraeus as “General Betray Us” — as “disgusting.”

…snip…

“The ad was, by any standard, abhorrent,” Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) said before Thursday’s vote. “It accused a four-star general who has the trust and respect of 160,000 men and women in Iraq of betraying that mission and those troops, of lying to them and to us. Who would have ever expected anybody to go after a general in the field at a time of war, launch a smear campaign against a man we’ve entrusted with our mission in Iraq?”

When should we go after a general? When he is home clipping his toenails during peacetime? If Chimpy is too chickenshit to answer questions about the war himself, and if asswipe Secretary of Defense Robert Gates hides behind a general instead of testifying himself, then don’t bitch about for your little puppet Petraeus being criticized.

Sponsored by Sen. John Cornyn (R-Texas), the amendment to the defense authorization bill condemned “personal attacks on the honor and integrity of Gen. Petraeus and all members of the United States armed forces.”

The amendment split Democrats — 22 voted for it, including California’s Dianne Feinstein, and 24 against, including California’s Barbara Boxer. It also split the chamber’s two independents, with Joe Lieberman of Connecticut in favor and Bernie Sanders of Vermont opposed.

Sen. Barack Obama (D-Ill.), a Democratic presidential candidate, did not vote in protest of what he described as a “stunt designed only to score cheap political points.”

“It’s precisely this kind of political game-playing that makes most Americans cynical about Washington’s ability to solve America’s problems,” he said in a statement. “By not casting a vote, I registered my protest against this empty politics.”

Nope, sorry Barack. You want to register a protest? Then vote against an assault on the First Amendment’s guarantee of free speech. You are an attorney. Open up your mouth and tell the fucking Democrats who voted for this bullshit that they cast a vote against the Constitution. Go on the record. I see you hiding behind the house!

The remaining Democratic presidential candidates, Sens. Hillary Rodham Clinton of New York and Christopher J. Dodd of Connecticut, voted against the amendment. The two Republican senators running for president — Sam Brownback of Kansas and John McCain of Arizona — voted for it.

On a personal note: When I saw that my senator, Bill Nelson (D-INNAMEONLY), had voted for this disgusting censure, I immediately called his office and inquired whether he will be voting against free speech in the future. At first, I was told that the guy I was speaking to didn’t have any information about the vote. I told him that I thought we could assume that C-Span was telling the truth. Suddenly, he received an email from DC saying that Nelson voted for it, because it is not a good thing to criticize someone who served honorably in the service. I asked when Nelson or anyone else introduced similar bills when John Kerry and Max Cleland were being smeared. In repsonse, I was asked to lower my voice. I informed the asswipe that, as an American citizen and a constituent of Nelson, I had every right to voice my opinion as vociferously as I wished. I told him that I had to do so before I was censured and had my right to free speech taken away from me completely. There was no response other than the usual, “Is there anything else?” I hung up the phone.

A short explanation and a big thank you: So sorry if this story is a little stale. It seems that the tubes to the internets were clogged, and I was unable to get online to post this. Thanks to everyone who continued to check in. I will post a non-political diary in a few hours to–let’s say, cleanse the palate a bit. Of course, the palate cleanser might have a bit of mold on it after sitting in the hopper for the few days I was offline. Thanks again to everyone who didn’t desert the Raisin over the last few days. null

4 Comments

Filed under Barack Obama, Barbara Boxer, Bernie Sanders, Bill Nelson, Chimpy, Christopher Dodd, Constitution, Democrats, Dianne Feinstein, First Amendment, General Petraeus, George W. Bush, Hillary Clinton, humor, Iraq War, Joe Lieberman, John Cornyn, John McCain, Mitch McConnell, MoveOn, movies, parody, politics, Republicans, Robert Gates, Sam Brownback, snark

4 responses to “Disgusting!

  1. gottagrip

    Nonnie!!!!! Yea!!!!!! I was just getting ready to call you and see how things were going. I’ve been doing my best to entertain Fotc and crew, but it’s such a small pittance compared to you. I’m so glad you’re back, I could just cry with relief……

  2. nonnie9999

    hi gotta!!!
    i read all the comments in the other threads, and i thanked you over there for watching my back! however, i will thank you again over here. thanks!! :D

  3. gottagrip

    My pleasure. The crowd was getting restless, I felt I should throw them a bone or two, even if it was a paltry excuse for what they were craving.

    Everyone gets worried when you’re not around, me included. I’m glad I could put everyone’s minds at rest, especially mine….

  4. We have two worthless senators in Texas. The one who is not a woman is Cornyn who should remind all that ignert is a two sylible word.

Leave a Reply

