How does he eat with that foot in his mouth?

From The New York Times:

The food, atmosphere and clientele at Sylvia’s were a matter of nationwide attention yesterday because Bill O’Reilly, the Fox News Channel talk show host, recently described being surprised to find that the black-owned establishment was as pleasant as other restaurants.

“It was like going into an Italian restaurant in an all-white suburb in the sense of people were sitting there, and they were ordering and having fun,” Mr. O’Reilly said on his nationally syndicated radio show on Sept. 19. “And there wasn’t any kind of craziness at all.”

No wonder he was surprised. It wasn’t at all like BillO thought it was going to be:
null
Original DVD cover.

His comments have outraged some black leaders and baffled black New Yorkers, many of whom said yesterday they were puzzled by what sort of craziness Mr. O’Reilly would expect to find at Sylvia’s, since the Lenox Avenue restaurant is a favorite of Harlem residents, international tourists and former President Bill Clinton.

…snip…

Black and white customers described Mr. O’Reilly variously as living under a rock, or ignorant of black Americans, or, in the words of one diner, George Hymen, 68, “nutty in the head.”

“The idea that people would be in here acting out, cussing, is kind of archaic,” said Beverly Wilburn, 63, a clothing designer who lives nearby and sat at the counter munching on a sandwich and sipping coffee. “I would laugh if I didn’t think it was sad.”

…snip…

Assemblyman Keith L. T. Wright, a Democrat whose district includes Sylvia’s, said Mr. O’Reilly’s comments revealed his ignorance about black culture. “In the year 2007, if he’s surprised that black folks can sit in a restaurant and have cordial conversations, where has he been all these years?” he said.

From Newsday:

O’Reilly, host of a popular talk show on Fox News, told a radio audience on his syndicated show last week that he “couldn’t get over the fact” that there was “no difference” between Sylvia’s and any other New York restaurant.

“I mean it’s exactly the same, even though it’s run by blacks, primarily black patronship,” O’Reilly said. Later he added, “There wasn’t one person in Sylvia’s screaming, ‘M-Fer, I want more iced tea.’

…snip…

The real question, however, is whether or not O’Reilly will overcome the backlash that has followed or if he will fall by the same wayside as Don Imus and Jimmy “The Greek” Snyder, other broadcasters who made disparaging comments on air and ultimately had to resign.

“It’s hard to say,” said Larry Smith, the president for the Institute of Crisis Management, a consulting firm. “Certainly, if a presidential candidate or a CEO said something like this they would be beyond burnt toast.”

Smith expressed dismay when told that O’Reilly had Sharpton on the show Wednesday night and was scheduled to have [Jesse] Jackson on tonight.

“It sounds like they are trying to milk it for ratings,” he said. “It makes it hard to feel sorry for him.”

At Sylvia’s though, the focus was still on the food.

“It’s an expected comment from someone like that,” shrugged Cortney Daniels, 27, on her way in for a plate of black-eyed peas. “You can’t change the way people think.”

Oh, Deities of Irony, how you make me giggle! The stereotypes flow out of BillO, the stereotypical hypocritical freeper talking head! null

12 Comments

Filed under Al Sharpton, Bill Clinton, Bill O'Reilly, Don Imus, Fox News, Harlem, humor, Jesse Jackson, movies, parody, politics, Racism, snark, Stephen Colbert, television

12 responses to “How does he eat with that foot in his mouth?

  1. gottagrip

    I think Bill-O should be Chimpy’s new press secretary. I think the two of them would get along swimmingly. And think of the fun word games and nifty parodies we’d get out of it…..

  2. nightowl724

    Hey! Good one again, nonnie! Were you shopping at Stereotypes R Us again?

    I’ll bet that Bill O’Really thought the Chef’s Special would be fried chicken, grits with ketchup, greens with hog jowls, and watermelon.

    Gee, I hope he wasn’t too disappointed…

  3. Friend of the court

    Hey, nightowl! It’s good to see your voice. You’re just in time, tonight begins the quest for the 2,000th comment. Modesty prevents me from saying who made the 1,000th. But, I couldn’t have done it without you.

  4. nightowl724

    I missed you guys! I went back to my “time-out” post on the 21st. 26 comments! And, so many terrific nonnie-spoofs and comments since then.

    Wow!

    I was touched by your kind words about my mini-vacation nonnie, fotc, and gottagrip. Thank you.

    Nonnie, I feel terrible about that lightening bolt that hit your cable. I just have to do something about my malfunctioning GPS. I was aiming for the White House…

    Gottagrip, I’m glad you posted links to your DKos stuff. Baby, now that I’ve found you, I can subscribe to you. I’ll build my world around you. I need you so… Oh, wait, that would be The Foundations. Never mind. With all your attention to Gonzo, though, you might enjoy my parody called El Patsy at http://tinyurl.com/2ez42p.

    Fotc, my condolences on the loss of your cousin. I’m sure you know that you might feel worse before you start to feel better…but that you will feel better eventually. And, “the barn” IS the right place to share your grief. It is clear that many people here love you and care about you, whether they’ve met you or not – and that includes me.

  5. nonnie9999

    gotta, how much fun would it be if billO was made the new press sec’y? the only bad thing is that my future husband keith olbermann’s head might explode.
    welcome back, nightowl!! you were missed ’round these parts! whenever i put little details into a poster, i would think how sad i was that you were on hiatus, as i know that you look for all the little stuff. this poster almost drove me crazy. buckwheat is actually made up of 2 separate pics of him, and the body belongs to someone else entirely. besides that, it was painful to do. to think that assholes like billO can still be so damned ignorant. i didn’t want to go too far, but i had to push a little bit in order to make the point of how stupid he really is. lastly, nightowl, please be more careful with those lightning bolts.
    fotc, if we stay up all night, do you think we can make a dent in that next thou?

  6. nonnie9999

    well, i wrote a long comment, but it doesn’t seem to show up. this happened before, and it seems that wordpress has a program that identifies some comments as spam. while i can fix it when it happens to someone else’s comment, i don’t know if i can fix my own. the problem is that i can’t find it anywhere. of course, if mikk0 comes out of hiding, he will undoubtedly fix the problem, and then it will take its place before this one, and this one will make no sense at all.
    i will wait until tomorrow to see what happens. if it doesn’t show up, i will repeat what i said (without the language that offends wordpress–if i can figure out what that language is).

  7. nonnie9999

    i have recovered my spam! please remind to tell mikk0 how proud he should be! :lol:

  8. gottagrip

    Fotc: don’t get too cocky. I have a hatpin handy in case your head swells too much from that 1000th comment honor…

    nightowl: thank you so much. Not everything is parody, some of it is just straight-up writing, but I do have an edge when I write, so hopefully you’ll enjoy what I write even if there’s no parody involved. I do love to throw together those pics and snarky bits, though. I’m not in nonnie’s league, by any means, but it’s still fun….

    nonnie: The thought of Keith’s head exploding is discomfiting. Let’s not go there.

    As to being uncomfortable manipulating poor Buckwheat, I understand. It can be hard to push the stereotype envelope to make a point, producing discomfort in both you and the viewer. But pushing the envelope is the essence of good parody, and you are the master at whose feet I genuflect. Just keep it coming, my dear……

  9. nonnie9999

    thanks, gotta,
    i am watching keith now, and i am happy to report that his head looks just fine.
    i don’t mind pushing the envelope, but i have to say that these damned paper cuts are driving me crazy!

  10. gottagrip

    I have neosporin and bandaids if you need them, nonnie….

  11. nonnie9999

    thanks, gotta,
    i can always count on you for support and to have a first-aid kit handy. :D

  12. Pingback: Finger-lickin’ Bad « HYSTERICAL RAISINS

Leave a Reply

