Double-speak: Losing My Freligion

Mitt Romney:

Freedom requires religion, just as religion requires freedom. Freedom opens the windows of the soul so that man can discover his most profound beliefs and commune with God. Freedom and religion endure together, or perish alone.

Freedom. Religion. Can’t separate them. Let’s save some time and just call it Freligion ™.

Now, sell it, Mittsie!!!

Original art (scroll down).

Yep, I have a whole new advertising plan for your campaign, Mittsie! Keep scrolling down.


Sweet, huh?

22 Comments

Filed under 2008 election, Advertising, Christianity, humor, Mitt Romney, Mormons, parody, politics, Republicans, snark, Wordpress Political Blogs

22 responses to “Double-speak: Losing My Freligion

  1. nightowl724

    nonnie, these are so damned clever…

    I love the “Freedom with Conditions” tag. Mitt is a Mormon candidate. Mitt is an Evangelical Christian candidate. “It’s two, two, two Mitts in one!”

    But, I do think Mitt and the Mormons (good name for a gospel group?) are more the WHITE chocolate Reese’s type!

  2. nonnie9999

    thanks, nightowl,
    i was hoping they made some kind of sense, because i did them when i was sleep-deprived and breathing in sheetrock dust.
    i don’t know if you are able to see it or not, but i changed the gum from wrigley’s to wriggly, because mittsie is a snake in the grass. :D

  3. kip

    Damn, you are an absolute genius!

  4. nightowl724

    I admit that I missed the “wriggly” comment. That’s a good one! Sometimes when I’m looking at your stuff, I wish there was a “click here to enlarge” button” cuz these old eyes ain’t so great anymore and, with fibromyalgia, sleep deprivation is my normal state. Ha-ha.

    How much longer will your world be under construction? Been there. Done that. It’s soooo much fun. You’ll be finding sheetrock dust for months. Check your broiler (I almost caught my house on fire because I preheated without thinking!), under the couch, in the upper folds of your curtains…

  5. nonnie9999

    stop, kip, you are making me blush :oops: ! so, do you think mittsie will put me in charge of his advertising campaign? :)

  6. nonnie9999

    nightowl,
    let’s see. the renovation of my bathroom started in august, and i still have no sink, fan, vent, shower door, and light. the trash is still piled up in the backyard. they just stopped showing up.
    this latest round is still ongoing. it was supposed to take a couple of days. we are now at the one week mark. there is plaster and dust everywhere, and i expect that it will be finding it for months.
    of course, the worst part is that the more that is fixed, the more you find that the place needs even more work. my baseboards are rotted out in several places and have to be replaced—one of these days. i am flat broke after this round.
    i have fm and insomnia, so sleeplessness is no stranger to me. the difference is having to be awake really early so i can let these guys in (which translates into being up really early so i can answer to phone to hear them say that they will be a few hours late :evil: ).

  7. nightowl724

    Oh my, oh my… I can relate, as you know. My kids were fixing my master bathroom. It became too expensive for me to handle, so now I just don’t have one! On the bright side, my bedroom is a lot bigger…

    I have fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome – but I also frequently suffer from insomnia, too. Lately, I have been trying to deal with a CPAP for sleep apnea. It’s not working out very well…

    The situation you described where you have to get up early so they can be late is terrible! It’s hard enough to get up early because you really must, like for a doctor visit or something. My sympathies continue, cookie…

  8. nonnie9999

    cookie? :lol: you must be psychic! look for tonight’s entry, and you will see what i mean!

  9. snackdoodle

    nonnie, been catching you on KOS. You are wickedly clever and need a much wider audience.

  10. nonnie9999

    awwww, thank you, snackdoodle! :oops:
    i really enjoy doing these, and it is nice to know that other people enjoy them, too. thanks so much for stopping by and for commenting. it is very much appreciated. :D

  11. Got a Grip

    What snackdoodle said…..;-)

  12. nonnie9999

    i’ve missed you, gotta. but i vow to aim more carefully in the future! :wink:

  13. nonnie9999

    what’s wrong, trm, don’t you like sweets?

  14. TRM

    When are you gonna do some Hillary and Pelosi bashing????

  15. nonnie9999

    i’m not done with the rethugs yet. :)

  16. Pingback: The American Street » Blog Archive » Good News for Big Dig MagicUnderwearMan

  17. virgomonkey

    This post is genius!

  18. thanks, virgomonkey!
    welcome to the raisin! :D hope you will visit and comment often!

  19. Every time Willard says something like the quote about religion I feel like I’m Losing My Freligion….and my lunch!

  20. Good stuff, will need recycling soon. Whatever happened to the good old days when the regular troll was semi-lovable?

Leave a Reply

