Far Out Foreign Policy

From the transcripts of the Republican presidential debate in Boca Raton, Floriduhhhh (from the Federal News Service via The New York Times):

MR. [Tim] RUSSERT: Governor Huckabee, was the war a good idea, and is it worth the cost in blood and treasure?

MR. [Mike] HUCKABEE: I supported the president when he led us into this, as did the Democrats. And I think we owe him not a lot of scorn; we owe him our thanks that he had the courage to recognize there was a potential of weapons of mass destruction, and whether than wait until we had another attack, he went and made sure that it wasn’t going to happen from Saddam Hussein.

Now, everybody can look back and say, oh, well, we didn’t find the weapons. It doesn’t mean they weren’t there. Just because you didn’t find every Easter egg didn’t mean that it wasn’t planted.


Original DVD cover.
I got nuthin’.

From Think Progress 1.25.2008 (see the video there):

Chris Matthews pressed Huckabee on this point in an interview after the debate. “Do you believe there are WMD in Iraq that hasn’t been found that would have justified the war had we discovered it?” he asked. Huckabee offered this response:

I think it’s more likely that that weapons of mass destruction that we know that he at one time had, he used weapons against the Kurds, good chance they may have gone to Jordan. We don’t know where they are.

From Think Progress 1.27.2008 (see the video there):

Today on Fox News Sunday, host Chris Wallace pressed Huckabee to offer evidence to support this claim. “Governor, the Iraq Survey Group looked around Iraq for months after the invasion,” Wallace noted, and “could find no evidence that Saddam Hussein had an active program…Do you have any evidence of that contention?” Huckabee answered:

I don’t have any evidence.
[Saddam] was the one who announced openly he had weapons of mass destruction. He’s the one who had used similar weapons in the past. Let’s remember that both Democrats and Republicans and our intelligence agencies believed that he had them.

My point was that, no, we didn’t find them. Did they get into Syria? Did they get into some remote area of Jordan? Did they go some other place? We don’t know. They may not have existed. But simply saying — we didn’t find them so therefore they didn’t exist — is a bit of an overreach.

…snip…

UPDATE: On CNN’s Late Edition, Huckabee further defended his claims:

BLITZER: Well, do you believe that the president of the United States and the top national security advisers, the military commanders were all wrong when they now acknowledge there were no WMD under Saddam Hussein when the U.S. went into Iraq?

HUCKABEE: They all say they weren’t there when we went into Iraq. My point was, Saddam Hussein bragged that he had them. We know that he in the past had used them. So there have been weapons of mass destruction.

And I’m simply saying that because when we went in we didn’t find them, everybody wants to criticize the president and say, oh, the president lied to us. The president didn’t lie to us.

18 Comments

Filed under 2008 election, Chimpy, Chris Matthews, CNN, Fox News, George W. Bush, humor, Iraq War, Mike Huckabee, movies, MSNBC, parody, politics, Republicans, snark, Wolf Blitzer, Wordpress Political Blogs

18 responses to “Far Out Foreign Policy

  1. TRM

    Chris Matthews, a man I would like to punch repeatedly, what a whiny little shell of a man,,

    I don’t get the horse’s ass joke…. lil help??
    What did he do???

  2. Friend of the court

    It’s no joke. Huckabee is a horse’s ass. Easter Eggs? Although, there were probably more Easter Eggs in Iraq than weapons of mass destruction. Just because a lot of people, who should have known better, believed, or said that they believed Bush’s lies, doesn’t make them any less lies. Also, I don’t blame America, I blame Bush/Cheney and their bosses.

  3. TRM

    I’m a biiiig Cheney fan/….
    He rules!!!

  4. nonnie9999

    i hope you get to visit him when he is in jail, trm. :D

  5. nonnie9999

    fotc,
    maybe there is something to what scabby mcchucklepants said. after all, eggs are high in cholesterol, and they can clog american arteries. :shock: omg! easter eggs really are wmds!!

  6. Got a Grip

    Grab your generators, warm jammies, blankets and firearms everyone!! TRM and I agree on Tweety being a whiny little shell of a man I’d like to punch repeatedly. Hell has officially frozen. We are doomed as doomed can be…..

  7. nightowl724

    Didn’t Bush look dreamy tonight in his blue tie? That smirk. Those raised eyebrows. The mispronounced and misused words. The fuzzy math. The countless times he used the trust/empower couplet. And, Cheney was so dashing, too! Swoon…

    I just don’t understand why 81% of Americans think we’re on the wrong track. Why, I believed 100% of the endless lies and obfuscations Cheney made up and Bush spewed in the SOTU!

    I’ll miss them so… Sniff, sniff…

  8. nonnie9999

    gotta,
    the urge to pummel tweety spans party lines.

    nightowl,
    i tried to force myself to listen to chimpy, but i get physically ill just hearing his drone. they need to make the sotu more entertaining. when chimpy walks in, they need the benny hill music. when they pan to the dems, they need the crickets soundtrack. some boiiiinnngggg sound effects and others while chimpy is chirping away, and even i might be able to sit through the entire thing. now if i could just figure out something the tv morons can do to make the punditry afterwards more palatable.

  9. nightowl724

    I screamed. I cursed. I cried. I became nauseous.

    Not a pretty sight…

    I actually had to stop watching it in the living room and retire to my bedroom about halfway through. I was making my son crazy with my carrying-on!

  10. Got a Grip

    I find that if I just don’t look at them (Tweety, Bush, insert other morons here), I can make my way through. I turn the tv on and then depart to another room so that the sound has that faraway, dreamy quality to it that makes it seem much more like the fairy tale it is. The worst part is that my sister has to sit through it, too, and she just can’t restrain herself from screaming and screeching. Other than that, it works out well….

  11. TRM

    Nonnie: Cheney will never go to jail, he owns them all and has the key…

    Gotta: you hit him low, I will hamburger his stoopid face :)

    LOL NIghtowl your Kos stats are rich… go scream at the tele some more,,, :)

    Lastly… Cheney called me last night and told me Pelosi kept grabbing at his package during the speech… what a dirty little lib wench… :)

  12. nightowl724

    TRM, you are partially correct. I didn’t get the 81% wrong track stat from Kos. It was reported on both CBS and MSNBC last night in the SOTU coverage that only 19% think we are on the RIGHT track. However, I failed to consider the “unsures” in my comment above.

    According to the recent NBC/Wall Street Journal poll, “only” 68% feel we’re on the wrong track. The AP/Ipsos poll reported the same. The Gallup poll had it at 73%. I stand corrected. Thank you.

    Source:

    http://www.pollingreport.com/right.htm

  13. nonnie9999

    now, now, kids! don’t fight. people might mistake you for mittsie and john mcliebercain!

  14. TRM

    I think nightowl and I have a very affectionate hate and distrust of eachother….

    I can live with that…. hate ya NO!! :):):):):):):):):)

  15. Got a Grip

    TRM, I don’t know if I can work with you even to pummel Tweety after you originally snubbed me in your hit piece of Hysterical Raisins. There are some wounds from which one never recovers. I am weeping as I type this. Damn you, TRM, DAMN YOU!!

  16. nonnie9999

    there there, gotta. trm included you. you’re miss february. :D

  17. nightowl724

    Back atcha, TRM, you big lug, you! I hate you TWICE! But, I mean that in the nicest way, of course. :-)

  18. Huck said he plants easter eggs. What will sprout? Is this where rabbits come from?

Leave a Reply

