When life hands you a Lemon, make an ass out of yourself on TV!

From Talking Points Memo:

Michael Steele just doesn’t know how to stop.

Steele appeared on CNN this afternoon, and was asked by host Don Lemon whether he’s ever considered running for president, and right off the bat he managed to give the sensible, correct answer: “No. I’m telling you, I’m looking you in the eye honestly and telling you that, without blinking and without hesitation. Straight up.”

But then he was asked if he would ever consider doing it, and he kept the door open should the opportunity arise — even speaking in an optimistic, cheerful tone. “But, you know, God has a way of revealing stuff to you, and making it real for you, through others,” he said. “And if that’s part of the plan, it’ll be the plan. We may have this conversation in eight, ten, 12 years and you’ll sit back and you’ll play the tape back and say, ‘Oh, look at what you said!’ But it’ll be because that’s where God wants me to be at that time.”


Original DVD cover.

And then came this exchange, when he insisted that his public face-off with Rush Limbaugh was all part of his plan — to scope out the state of the Republican field, and see who was with him or against him:

    Steele: I am very introspective about things. I don’t do — I am a cause and effect kind of guy. So if I do something, there’s a reason for it. Even, it may look like a mistake, a gaffe. There is a rationale, there’s a logic behind it.

    Lemon: Even with the current events in news–

    Steele: Yeah.

    Lemon: There’s a rationale behind Rush, all that stuff?

    Steele: Yup. Yup.

    Lemon: You want to share it with us?

    Steele: Sure, I want to see what the landscape looks like. I want to see who yells the loudest, I wanted to know who says they’re with me but really isn’t.

    Lemon: How does that help you?

    Steele: It helps me understand my position on the chess board. It helps me understand, you know, where the enemy camp is and where those who are inside the tent are.

    Lemon: It’s all strategic?

    Steele: It’s all strategic.

I’ve missed strategery since Chimpy’s been gone. I thought nobody could strategerize like him, but Phat Head is sure giving him a run for his money!

Update: I just saw the video, and I suppose this should have tipped me off as to what was coming…

11 Comments

Filed under Chimpy, CNN, George W. Bush, humor, movies, parody, politics, Republicans, Rush Limbaugh, snark, Wordpress Political Blogs

11 responses to “When life hands you a Lemon, make an ass out of yourself on TV!

  1. Pingback: 3/26-Views from the Heartland: Other Blogs « American Heartland Bar and Grill

  2. jeb

    I love the developing story line on the video image Nonnie. If CNN had the balls to do real developing story lines like that, I’d be a regular viewer. Guess I’ll just have to stay tuned to The Nonnie News Network.

    • well, it’s about time you got your ass back here, young man! now if we can only locate nightowl….

      wouldn’t it be funny if the crawl at the bottom of the newscasts had comments about the person speaking? imagine seeing he’s lying!!! he’s lying!!! on the bottom of the screen when some politician is bloviating. same for the anchors and reporters. there should be gossip about them scrolling, too. do you watch the colbert report? i love the word. i want the crawl to be like the comments they have in those segments.

  3. Steele must be awful limber; he’s blowing smoke up his own @$$.

  4. but ac’d to michael – everything is planned, including his “fight” with rush limpballs

  5. I just hope the Democratic National Committee never gets caught sending him pay-off money. He’s really one of our best weapons against the GOP.

Leave a Reply

