Juicy Fruit

From POLITICO:

Jon Ralston today posted a remarkable audio recording of Nevada Republican Sharron Angle meeting privately with a conservative rival, Scott Ashjian, and his allies.

The recording is worth listening to in full despite its poor quality. It suggests that — at least for the purposes of this conversation with a Tea Party figure — behind the facade of a real grassroots outsider who hates the organized Republican Party is … a real grassroots outsider who hates the organized Republican Party.


Original DVD cover

“The Republicans have lost their standard, they’ve lost their principle,” she tells Ashjian.

…snip…

In opposing her, local Republicans are “coming out and showing their colors” she said. “That’s kind of good.”

Angle’s words may not have an immediate political impact, but they show what a profound challenge she and a handful of other Senate candidates pose to the Republican leadership, should they win. Angle’s view of herself is clearly of an insurgent, a subversive force within the GOP.

“We need to work from within,” she tells Ashjian. “And we have actually taken over the Washoe County Republican Party.”

“The only thing that’s different between you and I is, I guess, I was pragmatic enough to know because of other battles [that Angle has been involved in] that third parties can’t get traction,” Angle told Ashjian. “So I said all right, I’ll work with it. Just show me what the rules are, and I’ll work with. And the rules are there are Democrats, you got Republicans. And so what I set about [was] bringing myself up within that Republican rank.”

Here are bits and pieces of the transcript of the conversation (from the LAS VEGAS SUN):

Angle: “The one thing you said about the machinery that has endorsed me, they have no choice… …it’s me or Reid…that’s what they got…. also this is such a national race…so really we have them in a box…they are coming to us and saying, ‘We know we got to support you.’ ….In some ways, it’s exactly where we wanted that good old boy thing is in the box… [...] There was no one more shocked than they were when I won that primary, when I went back to Washington DC, they were still moaning and groaning and weeping and gnashing teeth over Sue Lowden…And I said I am what ya got, this is it.

…snip…

Angle: “(The Republicans in DC) don’t want me back there…because they know I’ll shake this mess up….…..I shook it up in Carson City, they hated me there…41-Angle was not a compliment……..When I go back, there may be five or six of us….maybe Joe Miller (Alaska), Ken Buck (Colorado), Christine O’Donnell (Delaware).

Ashjian: “She (O’Donnell) doesn’t have a chance.”

Angle: “Well I think she’s real.” She then skeptically mentions the Florida GOP Senate nominee as one of the group: “Marco Rubio, but that’s a stretch for me.”

Angle: Says the grass roots movement “gives me juice. That’s really all I can offer to you (Ashjian) is whatever juice I have, you have as well…You want to see DeMint, I have juice with him….I go to Washington, DC and want to see Jim DeMint, he’s right there for me. I want to see Tom Coburn, he’s right there for me. I want to see Mitch McConnell, he’s there.”


Original advertisement
Looks like juice, tastes like tea, smells like bullshit!

15 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Alaska, Democrats, Harry Reid, humor, Mitch McConnell, movies, parody, politics, Republicans, snark, Tom Coburn, Wordpress Political Blogs

15 responses to “Juicy Fruit

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Juicy Fruit « HYSTERICAL RAISINS -- Topsy.com

  2. And then there are the death threats Ashjian says he’s received. I guess Angle’s followers took her talk of “Second Amendment solutions” seriously.

    • thank goodness you’re here, neon vincent. i was getting lonely! :cry:

      i wonder if the threats to ashcan (that’s how his name sounded to me) are coming from inside or outside nevada. it seems that the tea party express is the one backing the obtuse angle, and ashcan is from the tea party in nevada. i read that the head of the tea party in nevada quit, because he was the one who set up the meeting between ashcan and the obtuse angle, and he promised her it wouldn’t be recorded. oops! :oops:

  3. Sorry, Nonnie! I love your poster. :-)

    I went and saw a the Rocky Horror Picture Show tonight (a play that my son built the sets or something). Came home to libertarianism exploded in my comments via one. Blah.

    • ~sniff~ that’s okay. i’ll get over it.

      eventually….

      i was over at your place earlier, and i wish i could say that i was shocked by the libertarian response, but there’s very little that shocks me these days. i left my 2¢ over there. she didn’t answer me.

  4. Love the juice poster!

    I do not want these jack ass tea party people to be in office…. sure it’s amusing to see their freak show craziness in the election run up– but not in office, for real, regular installments.
    I’m not all fired up with the dems, but the mantra seems to be “it could/would be worse with anyone else.

    Meh.

    • i almost forgot to make the juice poster. the other one took me forever, and i was exhausted, so i figured i’d leave the juice one for the next day. it was almost posting time, and i realized i had forgotten to make it. :o

      these guys are very entertaining in the primaries, but it’s downright scary to think any of them might actually be in congress.

  5. Joanaroo

    If these Tea Party Looney Toons get in, I think there should be I.Q. tests given and only people over a certain amount be allowed to run for office before the next election. I certainly don’t want anyone more stoopid than W getting into office! And some of the looneys are giving him a run for the money! With a waste of a brain getting in, it’ll mean the same as with W-wasted money, more destitute and dying ‘Mah Fellow Third-World Americans’ and more religious paranoia, superstition and hypocrisy.

    • if the tea party looney toons get in, the iq tests will be devised by the same idiots who rewrote the history textbooks in texas. it will be the sane, intelligent people who won’t stand a chance of passing.

  6. That OJ poster is tops! I needed a good laugh. Funny how many people mentioned in the story now roam the Valley of the Losers…….day three….1:30 AM…..intercepted at rest stop by notorious Arizona State Kitten Police….survive interogation by a cats whisker….get the hell out of AZ as quickly as possible.

  7. You would think oranges would be cheaper in Florida and California, but they never are. ….Chapter 3 begins with Tex narrowly surviving the yaws of death. As the sun goes down he crosses the border to the badass lands of Arizona feeling weary haven gone 800 miles with less than an hours sleep. Taking the wiser sisters advice, he seeks rest but realizes there is “no room at the inn” for linked up autos and sleepily presses on to a roadside rest area where he pulls up with the big trucks and parks, realizing that he has gone 940 miles with no rest. Our hero grabs a cushion, leans against the door and is out like a wet match. After too short of a while, Tex is startled into a confused, unwanted wakening with loud terse words…and….stay tuned for Chapter 4—“Flashlight from Hell”

Leave a Reply

