“I am serious, and don’t call me Shirley.”

I just read that Leslie Nielsen, one of my favorite actors, died at the age of 84.  I hope he won’t mind if I recycle some of his movies that I already recycled.  I had 2 versions of The Naked Gun, one with Fred Thompson, who was gunnin’ for votes

Original DVD cover


…and Senator John Thune of South Dakota, who was gunnin’ for trouble

Then there was Leslie’s classic, Police Squad. I hope I will be forgiven for casting crazy-assed James Inhofe of Oklahoma in Leslie’s role (at least on the cover)…
Original image

Rest in peace, Leslie Nielsen, and thanks for the laughs.

25 Comments

Filed under Fred Thompson, humor, James Inhofe, movies, parody, politics, Republicans, snark, Wordpress Political Blogs

25 responses to ““I am serious, and don’t call me Shirley.”

  1. Excellent choice!

    I was just reciting lines from Leslie Nielsen movies to my 14-year-old (who’s finishing a theater project…last minute, grrr).

    “Do you have anything light?” “How about this leaflet, ‘Famous Jewish Sports Legends”?” 😆

  2. jeb

    “We have to get them to a hospital.”

    “What is it Doctor?”

    “It’s a large building with patients but that’s not important now.”

  3. jeb

    and who can forget this classic?

  4. I crewed on a couple of Mr. Nielson’s 1990’s movies – Wrongfully Accused and some other P.O.S. (movie technical term there) – a most gracious star in a galaxy of rampaging egos.

    R.I.P.

    ;>)

  5. There were plenty of funny lines to recycle, and worth it… Levity is important… Thank you.

  6. jean-philippe

    Another great Canadian spirit is gone… 😦

    Vincent Ludwig: Drebin!
    Jane Spencer: Frank!
    Frank Drebin: You’re both right.

  7. It’s a sad day to lose such a funny man.

  8. His films will stand the test of time. And I saw a clip from Forbiden Planet with Leslie chatting up Ann Francis. Was he ever that young? Shirley one of the good ones!

Leave a Reply

