How the Russians Turned a Page

From abcNEWS:

Two years before joining the Trump campaign as a foreign policy adviser, New York business consultant Carter Page was targeted for recruitment as an intelligence source by Russian spies promising favors for business opportunities in Russia, according to a sealed FBI complaint.

Page confirmed to ABC News that he is the individual identified as “Male-1” in a 2015 court document submitted in a case involving the Russian spies.

the20front20page

Original DVD cover

“I didn’t want to be a spy,” he said in an interview early Monday afternoon. “I’m not a spy.”

According to the document, the FBI interviewed Page as part of the investigation stemming from the indictment of three Russian men identified as agents of the Russian overseas intelligence agency, the SVR. One of them, Evgeny Buryakov, was operating undercover as an executive in the New York office of a Russian development bank. The Buryakov case resurfaced in headlines last week when President Trump’s son-in-law Jared Kushner revealed he had met with the head of the same bank. Buryakov was sentenced to 30 months in prison as part of a plea agreement, but he was released from prison over the weekend and is awaiting deportation to Russia.

In the FBI court filings, spy recruiters were overheard speaking with Buryakov about “the attempted use of Male-1 as an intelligence source for Russia,” the court record says. The recruiter says he “promised Male-1 a lot” and told him he would use his “connections in Russia” to “push contracts” his way. “For now, his enthusiasm works for me,” the recruiter says of Page.

…snip…

Early in his campaign for president, Trump identified Page as one of his top foreign policy advisers during a Washington Post editorial board meeting. At the time, Page had almost no public profile in Washington foreign policy circles. In September, he emerged as a key figure in the investigation into Russian interference in the 2016 elections when questions began to circulate about a speech he gave at a prominent Moscow university over the summer. Page was also named in the now infamous dossier prepared by former British spy Christopher Steele hired to conduct opposition research on Trump. The dossier alleged that Page used the speech as cover to meet with senior Kremlin officials on Trump’s behalf, a claim that Page has denied.

…snip…

“It would have been an honor to meet [Russian oil executive and Putin ally] Igor Ivanovich [Sechin], but I never had that opportunity,” Page said.

13 Comments

Filed under FBI, humor, movies, parody, politics, Republicans, Russia, satire, snark, Wordpress Political Blogs

13 responses to “How the Russians Turned a Page

  1. I’ve lost track of how many Trumpettes have now been identified for being “friendly” with Russia The list keeps growing, sort of like bread dough rising in a bowl.

    Mean while Model T keeps “twitling” away while daughter and son-in-law run the show.

    I’m amazed at your knowledge of politics. You are one smart lady and I’m not here trying to stroke your feathers. 🙂 I read Margret and Helen but I haven’t looked over there since discovering your blog.

    • I think it was a requirement for anyone trying to get a job with the Twitler administration that the applicant had to love Russia and Putin. More likely, there is a small pool of Russia lovers from which Twitler chooses his possible employees. If you went into the general public (even the more affluent general public), I doubt you would find that huge a percentage of Russophiles.

      I’ve been doing posters on this blog for 10 years and had been interested in politics before that. I did at least one poster a day every day for years and years. Because of that, I would find myself down in the weeds looking at every angle of each story. Plus, I have blog buddies who are far smarter and informed than I am (looking at you, Infidel!!) who taught me a lot and pointed me toward sources I would not have found on my own. When I hear a story about someone new in the news, I do a search here to see if I ever posted about them. It amazes me how often I find formerly obscure subjects in old posts here. For example, I did a post about Betsy DeVos back in 2011 (and mentioned her in a post about her brother in 2007). I recently found a poster that costarred Rex Tillerson from 2011 that I had completely forgotten about. I read the old posts, and I say to myself Oh yeah, that guy! I had forgotten about that! Politics is like a soap opera. You have to follow the characters and remember them, because you never know when they are going to pop up in a new storyline.

      P.S. I love Margaret and Helen. ❤

      • Well thank you, Noonie for the info of your career in blogging. I am fascinated by your ability to find your sources of info. It is always seems to be correct and that is what astounds me. You know more than any of the Internet news that I read. One thing that aggravates me is that Yahoo and some of the others are never able to write a story that is correct in most aspects. The writing is awful and the structure of the stories is not well defined or composed.

        At any rate the posters are incredible and I am awed by what you do. I think you should be selling your work in a magazine. It is that good. I’m glad to know that you like Margaret and Helen. Mercy that blog is funny.

        • I try to avoid reading most of what I find on Yahell. Their reporting is less than stellar in a lot of cases, and if you click on a headline, the story has little or nothing to do with the headline. What’s worse are the comments. The Twitler trolls are right there to dump on anyone they consider to be a “libtard” and to support anything Twitler.

          I’m glad you enjoy the posters and glad you found The Raisin, PPP. 🙂

          • I agree that Yahoo writes articles that are poorly written. Very misleading with titles. I often go to comments so I can read the stupidity of folks. I’ve never seen so much hate for Obama, Clinton and liberals. I realize some of them or maybe most are trolls and I have yet to figure out why these people don’t have a life. I look for other news outlets but I have to pay to read and so far I’m not willing to do that. Yvonne

            • Nice to finally know your name, Yvonne. 😀

              If you don’t want to pay to read the news online, here’s a little trick. go to Google and find the article you want to read. If it’s from a paper that only allows you a few articles before you have to pay, instead of left clicking on the link, right click on it, and then click on “open link in incognito window.”

              • Thank you, Noonie for the tips. I will give it a try. In the past I have gone to Google and I was stopped at the door of W. Post, NYT, The New Yorker, etc. I tried Reuters but those guys run their mouths and give their opinions. I have not tried Huffington, or Bloomberg yet. Not sure how good they are but I surely don’t care for Yahoo/Yayhell but that’s been the easiest for me. No need to respond to this and thank you again for the hint.
                Yvonne

      • Thank you 🙂

        I’m sure the number of Americans interested in selling out the US to Russia for personal gain is tiny. It’s just unfortunate that that tiny number now comprises the government.

        I’m sure Petspeopleandlife is right that you could monetize your talents if you chose, but there are dangers — in that situation you can find yourself pulling punches, self-censoring with an eye to not giving offense in ways that could reduce revenue. If you’re like me, you wouldn’t want to risk losing your edge that way.

        Is Kushner associated with spoons in some way, or are you just referencing his extraordinary personal magnetism?

        • If you look at the population as a whole, and you asked them where they would like to travel if money was not a consideration. I doubt that even 1% would mention Russia, yet everyone Twitler is associated with seems to think it’s the best place in the world to travel to (yes, I know I ended the sentence with a preposition, and I am embarrassed and ashamed). What are the chances?

          Thanks for the kind words. I just hope I am able to continue to make posters. My old hand-me-down Photoshop program has been acting up lately.

          I knew someone would ask about the spoon. I like for all of my “characters” to have a signature accessory. In this case, I thought a silver spoon would be appropriate for Jared. Google how he got into Harvard. Just another entitled average asshole who gets opportunities thanks to a rich daddy.

  2. the loony tic

    i’m surprised someone hasn’t discovered our very talented friend & made her a star yet. she’s much better than many comical blogs & posts i’ve seen on the internets.

Leave a Reply

