Stunt Man

From NBC News:

A Florida congressman couldn’t mask his concern for the coronavirus outbreak.

Rep. Matt Gaetz wore a gas mask to Wednesday’s House vote on the $8.3 billion bill for emergency funding to help tackle the issue.

matt gaetz gasmask

Matt Gaetz poses in his custom-made gas mask and tinfoil hat.

Asked why he was wearing the mask, Gaetz said, “Look, members of Congress are human petri dishes. We fly through the dirtiest airports, we touch everyone we meet.”

He also tweeted out a picture of himself reviewing a piece of paper while wearing the headgear ahead of the vote.

Gaetz’s decision was not in line with the administration’s recommendations. U.S. Surgeon General Jerome Adams tweeted last week, “Seriously people — STOP BUYING MASKS! They are NOT effective in preventing general public from catching #Coronavirus.”

…snip…

It’s not clear how effective his protection was. Rep. Pete Gallego, a Democrat from Arizona, informed Gaetz he wasn’t wearing the headgear properly and helped him fix it in what Gallego called a moment of “bipartisanship.”

…snip…

Gaetz said he was allowed to wear the mask on the floor because “there are provisions in the House rules that permit medically necessary headgear.” Asked if he planned on wearing it regularly, he said, “Great question.”

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D.-Calif,, didn’t sound amused when she heard about the stunt. “I didn’t even know that he was doing that but they advised us not to wear masks,” Pelosi said.

8 Comments

Filed under Congress, Florida, humor, Nancy Pelosi, parody, politics, Republicans, satire, snark, Surgeon General, Wordpress Political Blogs

8 responses to “Stunt Man

  1. You think you’re being funny putting cans of Corona beer in place of the filters, but I was just at a grocery store earlier today and the guy behind the counter told me Corona beer isn’t selling as well as usual because some people actually think there’s a connection.

    I told him the brewery should start a rumor that the beer is actually the vaccine. People dumb enough to believe the one thing would be dumb enough to believe the other.

    I’ve never been a fan of ties, but a coronavirus tie would have to win the top prize for hideousness.

    Can’t make out the Florida DUI Defense card too well, but it looks like mostly more beer?

    • I’ve read that idiots think the virus is caused by Corona beer. Remember AYDS candy? It was supposed to curb your appetite and make you lose weight. When the AIDS epidemic was at its height, the candy disappeared.

      I tried to post a pic of the DUI card. I only made the top of it, because it was going in his pocket. I tried several times to insert the pic in a comment, but for some reason, the pic will not post correctly in WordPress media. The top keeps getting cut off. When I try to add it to a comment, it just disappears. I’ll keep trying.

  2. therub

    it’s a wonder humanity hasn’t extinguished itself by now from sheer stupidity.

    • For the life of me, I can’t understand how this shithead ever got elected. There are some really stupid people down here in Floriduhhh, but they have to be a special kind of stupid in his district to elect and reelect a drunk-ass attention whore who accomplishes nothing.

  3. Ok on more time. Third time to comment since my computer keeps shifting from your blog. Love the cartoon. I need to get to my blog to find out what happened to notifications. I have missed posts on every blog that I comment on.

    • WordPress gets wonky sometimes, and other times, they change things, and I have no idea how to navigate through the changes. Hope you figure it out soon. ♥

      • I have already tried and to no avail to figure out what is wrong. In the meantime I will just have to try to go to the notices on my own site and click on the comments that were returned to me. It is a royal pain.