Can You Hear Me Now?

From The Washington Post:

Prominent conservative columnist Peggy Noonan and former John McCain campaign manager Michael Murphy made disparaging comments Wednesday about the Republican’s choice of Sarah Palin as his running mate, after a segment that aired on NBC with Chuck Todd. Thinking that the microphone had been turned off — or, perhaps, that the video signal had stopped transmitting — Noonan and Murphy ripped into Palin as someone who would weigh down the GOP ticket.

“It’s over,” said Noonan.

peoplewilltalk
Original DVD cover.

Asked if Palin is the most qualified Republican woman to be McCain’s running mate, Noonan replied: “The most qualified? No. I think they went for this, excuse me, political bull$hit about narratives and [inaudible] the picture.”

Later, she continued: “Every time the Republicans do that, because that’s not where they live and it’s not what they’re good at, and they blow it.”

Added Murphy: “You know what’s really the worst thing about it? The greatness of McCain is no cynicism, and this is cynical.”

The video is over at Crooks & Liars. Here’s the transcript:

Murphy: You know, because I come out of the blue swing state governor work. Engler, Whitman, Tommy Thompson, Mitt Romney, Jeb Bush. And these guys, this is all like how you win a Texas race. You know, just run it up. And it’s not gonna work.

Noonan: It’s over.

Murphy: Still, McCain can give a version of the Lieberman speech to do himself some good.

Todd: Don’t you think the Palin pick was insulting to Kay Bailey Hutchinson, too (inaudible)

Noonan: I saw Kay this morning.

Todd: She’s never real comfortable about that. [That’s what I think he said. You can listen and judge for yourself.]

Murphy: They’re all bummed out. I mean, is she really the most qualified woman they could have turned to?

Todd: Yeah, I mean is she really the most qualified woman they could have turned to?

Noonan: The most qualified? No. I think they went for this, excuse me, political bull$hit about narratives and (inaudible) the picture.

Yeah, but what’s the narrative?

Noonan: Every time the Republicans do that because that’s not where they live and it’s not what they’re good at and they blow it.

Murphy: You know what’s really the worst thing about it? The greatness of McCain is no cynicism and this is cynical.

And as you call it gimmicky.

You can read old Peggy’s explanation of the event over at the Wall Street Journal. Wear hip boots and bring a shovel! Here’s part of it:

In our off-air conversation, I got on the subject of the leaders of the Republican party assuming, now, that whatever the base of the Republican party thinks is what America thinks. I made the case that this is no longer true, that party leaders seem to me stuck in the assumptions of 1988 and 1994, the assumptions that reigned when they were young and coming up. “The first lesson they learned is the one they remember,” I said to Todd — and I’m pretty certain that is a direct quote. But, I argued, that’s over, those assumptions are yesterday, the party can no longer assume that its base is utterly in line with the thinking of the American people. And when I said, “It’s over!” — and I said it more than once — that is what I was referring to.

Pardon me for just a moment.

Here’s a bit more:

I do like Mrs. Palin, because I like the things she espouses. And because, frankly, I met her once and liked her.

Yet another person who has only met Sister Sarah once! For someone the talking heads keeps describing as a nice person, there doesn’t seem to be a very long line to meet her a second time! 😉

14 Comments

Filed under 2008 election, humor, Jeb Bush, Joe Lieberman, John McCain, Media, Mitt Romney, movies, parody, politics, Republicans, Sarah Palin, snark, Tommy Thompson, Wordpress Political Blogs

14 responses to “Can You Hear Me Now?

  1. Alfie

    wow how do you do the little laughing guy ? this speaks more about the journalistic integrity of noonan and the putz moore than palin methinks.

  2. hi alfie! 😀
    the little laughing guy is just a gif. use the image button and insert the url for it.
    i think this incident speaks to more than just the journalistic integrity of noonan and murphy. it tells those who might not have realized it yet that a lot (if not the vast majority) of the talking heads on tv are speaking from a list of talking points, not from their hearts or their minds. it tells people that we don’t have an independent media in this country. we have propagandists on both sides spewing the party line. there are exceptions (i hope), but i think that the ones who have been around the longest are so immersed in their respective ideologies that they can no longer be trusted to tell us the truth. caveat audiens.

  3. alfie,
    i just reread your comment, and now i am insulted. how dare you say that i am doing the little laughing guy!! 😡 we are just dating casually. he hasn’t even gotten to first base!

  4. Got a Grip

    I can’t believe that little Peggy could type that “explanation” without her pants bursting into flame. I don’t know how on earth she thinks she can talk her way out of it. I can hear what each of them are saying plain as day, and I’m half deaf.

    Sometimes, no matter how much lipstick you put on it, a pig is just a pig…..

  5. gotta!! 😀
    welcome back!!
    i wish this story was getting more attention. people need to know that the people on the tv screen are not telling them their honest opinions, just what will support their political outlook. i guess miss peggy figures that, if her fans believe half the $hit she says on a daily basis, they will believe this lamebrained nonsense, too.

  6. I was wondering what Noonen was going to say about getting caught off mic telling the truth.
    How naive I was not to assume she’d lie her ass off about it.

  7. jeb

    OK, granted I just got home and I had a few beers (relative) but I have no ability to translate that explanation. Someone help me out here, is it me, the beers or just more of the same regurgitated BS?

  8. jeb

    Nonnie, you’re not doing the little laughing guy? Another illusion shattered.

  9. i can’t find my noonan-to-english dictionary anywhere, so i have no clue as to what her explanation meant. perhaps a few more six-packs will make it clearer, jeb.

  10. nightowl724

    I tried reading her ‘splanation backwards. It wasn’t any better, but it wasn’t any worse, either!

    Luv the cuv, nons…

  11. karen,
    don’t feel naive. we always make the mistake of thinking that we are dealing with human beings. they have clever disguises, so we get roped in once in a while.

  12. okay. okay!!! once. i did the little laughing guy once, but i was drunk and vulnerable. 😥

  13. jeb

    Mmmmm foot tastes good. Oooh, toes delicious. Yum!

  14. i hope the toenails scratch all the way down.